Fredericton Movies

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

Score: 7.72 / 10

Director: Guillermo del Toro
Producer: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer
Rating: 14A
Running Time: 123 minutes

Write a Review


The Shape of Water movie reviews

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, February 15, 2018 2:53:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Guillermo del Toro's crowning achievement. A lush, thoughtful tribute to the films of yesterday.

  • 7

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, February 15, 2018 2:34:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    While a love story between a sea creature and a woman may be a little far fetched, ultimately this is a story about loneliness, our need for human connection, and the lengths we will go to find it.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, February 15, 2018 11:07:21 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I love how this movie just goes all in, no half-measures.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, February 15, 2018 10:55:55 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I would call it an impeccable reconstruction of The Beauty and the Beast, perfect soundtrack, I loved the photography, excellent performance by Sally Hawkins and Michael Shannon.

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, February 15, 2018 9:20:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Best film I've seen for ages, interesting, silly and just fun to watch, some critics are so full of their own importance they seem to forget about entertainment!

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, February 15, 2018 9:02:48 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved it, I simply did. Guillermo del Toro's latest feature has so much soul and heart that elevate this story to other levels. "The Shape Of Water" is an otherwordly experience and the movie that made me finally fall for del Toro's style. A very unique story,a very poetic story, a beautiul fairytale. So many themes hidden in this movie,so many subtle points were made. Sally Hawkins dazzled me with her performance, she was magnificent! All performances were exceptional but hers and Jenkins' brought so much soul to their characters. A really great movie!

  • 2

    The Shape of Water

    Wednesday, February 14, 2018 9:02:12 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    So when Troy McClure does it, it's sick; but when Sally Hawkins does it, it's beautiful and romantic?!? WTF?!!?

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Wednesday, February 14, 2018 9:32:51 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The most romantic film of the year.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Wednesday, February 14, 2018 8:48:15 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Del Toro bounces back after what others would call a weak film, Crimson Peak, I enjoyed that film. This film plays out like The Creature from the Black Lagoon but is much more beautiful and a labour of love by the director. The film balances a horror film but also a mystery and love that is not commonly shared in this day and age. I'm shocked Del Toro has never made a film at Universal as he has the scope and ambition to remake the Wolfman or Frankenstein something unique. I hope this wins big as it deserves all the focus it is receiving by audiences and critics.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Wednesday, February 14, 2018 8:33:59 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is a gorgeous movie. A luscious cinematic confection, with a thoroughly engaging and original story made even better by the beautiful performances it hosts. Richard Jenkins was a standout for me, giving a deep humanity and humor to what could have been a mere supporting role. The actors all gave tremendous credibility to this fantastic story, and worked so very well together as an ensemble. Beautifully directed and shot, it has to be seen to be believed. So glad I saw it on the big screen.