Fredericton Movies

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

Score: 7.66 / 10

Director: Guillermo del Toro
Producer: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale
Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Sally Hawkins, Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Doug Jones, Michael Stuhlbarg, Octavia Spencer
Running Time: 123 minutes

Write a Review


The Shape of Water movie reviews

  • 9

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 2, 2018 12:46:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Darkest Hour and TSOW - my favourite 2 films of 2017.

  • 7

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 2, 2018 10:07:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie may be better on second viewing, but as it played out exactly as I expected, an underwhelming feeling lingers. On too many accounts del Toro restrains himself which leaves the film feeling restless as it falls short in succeeding the same emotional hits that his previous films have. But even a weaker del Toro film is still a thousand times better than most blockbusters.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 2, 2018 10:03:28 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Amazing movie! The normals are dysfunctional and the outcasts are pure love. Like no movie Ive ever seen.Must see!

  • 8

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 2, 2018 9:59:05 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Gorgeous filmmaking. Loved the originality in all. Imperfections are subtle. Too on the nose with thematic threads in B and C stories. Might have done better to explore fewer subplots and backstories. Overall impressive and I would watch again because it's just glorious visually. Cannot conceive of anyone else but Sally Hawkins in that role!

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 2, 2018 9:31:34 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It's the best auteur driven "mainstream" film out there, that may not outlive Del Toro's previous masterpiece Pan's Labyrinth but may actually be a better film, having been sculpted from pure soul and an outsize imagination.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Friday, February 2, 2018 9:26:58 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Wave after wave of brilliant film making encompassing every area of manufacturing such a work was brilliant. This movie deserves every accolade it receives.

  • The Shape of Water

    Thursday, February 1, 2018 6:37:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie has a little bit of everything in it i.e. romance; friendship; crushes; secrets; family dynamics; emotional darkness; white lies; mild thriller bits thrown in for good measure and humour. Will it win Best Picture of 2017?.... it might due to its absolute uniqueness! I would give it a 3.75% rating.

  • 10

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, February 1, 2018 3:37:13 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The story was sweet. I can see the same person who bashed SW because they have women is posting in here. No again please. Weird story but sweet.

  • 2

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, February 1, 2018 12:41:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    TSOW is a beautifully told story of a woman having feelings and an affair with a fish man. WTF? I guess beastiality is alright if told with great CGI and tenderness.

  • 3

    The Shape of Water

    Thursday, February 1, 2018 11:49:53 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Movie had potential but did not deliver. Needed a severe editing. Great theme of love between a human and a creature—both misunderstood, but a mishmash of unconnected plot elements. We have racial inequality, put downs of the handicapped, women’s “roles” , Soviet spying, treatment of creatures etc. Any one of these would be worth exploring, but not all of them at once. Most of the nudity was not necessary (for example the married couple lovemaking) and I really don’t see why movies cannot be made without the “F” word used in every second sentence. That was not how the sixties were! The man who ran the lab was just totally mean with no redeeming qualities. Octavia Spencer played the only realistic character and one we could identify with. Disappointing!!